July 25th, 2019

Music starts at 5:30PM

Ozomatli are an American six-piece band playing primarily Latin, hip hop, and rock music, formed in 1995 in Los Angeles. They are known both for their vocal activist viewpoints and their wide array of musical styles including salsa, jazz, funk, reggae, rap, and others. The group has released seven studio albums. They are also known for advocating for farm-workers' rights and immigration reform. The band has performed in countries all over the world, including China, Tunisia, Jordan, and Burma. Although the band has had many member changes over the years and has sometimes had as many as ten members, the current six members have been in the band since its debut album.

In 1998, Ozomatli released its self-titled debut album, and soon after opened for Carlos Santana on his Supernatural world tour. The group released Embrace the Chaos in 2001, followed by Street Signs in 2004. Don't Mess with the Dragon followed in 2007, which saw the band experimenting with a more diverse array of musical styles. The group composed music for Happy Feet 2 and recorded Ozomatli Presents Ozokidz, a family-friendly album. From 2011 to 2014, Ozomatli also served as the house band for stand-up comedian Gabriel Iglesias' television show, Gabriel Iglesias Presents Stand Up Revolution.


Studio albums

  • Ozomatli (1998), Almo Sounds

  • Embrace the Chaos (2001), Interscope

  • Street Signs (2004) Concord Records, Real World Records

  • Don't Mess with the Dragon (2007), Concord Records

  • Fire Away (2010) Downtown Records, Mercer Street

  • Ozomatli Presents Ozokidz (2012), Hornblow Records

  • Place in the Sun (2014)

  • Non-Stop: Mexico to Jamaica (2017)